top of page
Search
  • Audrey Hunter

Research Article Prospectus

Through my research article I am working on the topic of the application of neuroscience within the legal field, specifically focusing on the newer field of neurolaw. I want to inform my readers of the recent research and help them better understand the benefits of using neuroscience in law, especially within the courtroom.


My major has included several classes that are interdisciplinary within themselves, which has pushed me to seek interdisciplinarity in the real world. Last semester, I took Psychology and Law, which directly incorporates two major components of what I’m studying overall. In researching a subject for my research article, I looked specifically for topics that would do the same, and in doing so I found the field of neurolaw. I’m interested in this subject because it builds off of things that I have been learning in class and takes it further.


I’m hoping to write an article that is aimed towards laymen in the legal world. I have found that a lot of people do not understand psychological concepts as they are applied in the legal system, and this frequently affects jury outcomes. I’m hoping to bring awareness to fact-based concepts concerning the application of psychology in the legal field.

I want to find out what research has been done on this subject, how effective/reliable it has been so far, and what people in the field hope to do in he future.



Search Terms:

Neurolaw

Neuroscience in court

Application of neuroscience

Brain imaging in court


Gameplan:

October 9th-October 16th: Find Sources

October 16th-19th: Read/analyze sources

October 20th-October 24th: Create outline for paper

October 23rd: Precis Due

October 24th-October 30th: Write First Draft of Paper

October 30th-November 5th: Take Paper to Writing Center, Revise Draft

November 13th: Completed Draft Due

November 20th: Final Draft Due

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Neuroplasticity: How the Brain Adapts from Massive Loss

Neuroplasticity: How the Brain Adapts from Massive Loss Audrey Hunter Plymouth State University The brain is known as the body’s most complex and mysterious organ. While there have been massive advanc

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page